Top pediatricians REJECT puberty-blockers, “ideology-driven social experiment on vulnerable children and their families”

“Puberty blocking” drugs = medical child abuse.

Some leading pediatricians have recently written a great letter to the important medical journal Pediatrics. They objected to a recent article in that journal recommending incredibly toxic and dangerous “care” for children who don’t follow “gender” stereotypes. The article was pushing the usual trans-medical industry line that these children should be put on puberty blockers and fast-tracked for transsexualism and a lifetime under clinical surveillance. It is encouraging that there is some serious scientific resistance to the horrible things being done to children. There is no such thing as a “transgender child. “Innate gender identity” is a lie.

Here is the full text of the letter in response to that insane article.

Puberty is not a disorder

We vigorously object to the normalization of childhood gender identity disorder (GID) promoted by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) in the article “Psychological and Medical Care of Gender Nonconforming Youth,”1 published in the December issue of Pediatrics. The recommendations of the authors to reinforce the delusions of gender identity–confused children, and to prescribe puberty-blocking hormones as though puberty were a disorder, are outrageous. This approach violates the oath physicians take to “do no harm.”

Although some affected children and their parents may report being happier when health professionals, families, friends, and schools affirm their false beliefs, “happiness” is not always consistent with good health. It can also be short-lived.

A recent 30-year study in transgendered adults in Sweden, unquestionably a transgender-affirming culture, should give the AAP and American Psychiatric Association (APA) pause: it showed that individuals who underwent sex reassignment surgery suffered significantly greater morbidity and mortality when compared with matched controls. Shockingly, their suicide mortality rose almost 20-fold above the comparable nontransgender population. The authors concluded, “Our findings suggest that sex reassignment, although alleviating gender dysphoria, may not suffice as treatment for transsexualism . . . [emphasis added].”2

There is no adequate body of research on the long-term use of puberty blockers in early adolescence followed by lifelong administration of exogenous testosterone to biological girls or of exogenous estrogen to biological boys. However, there is significant evidence indicating stunted growth and infertility from puberty-blocking hormones, and possible malignancies from chronic use of synthetic hormones.3 Yet, this is what the AAP and APA recommend.

We submit that children who dread the development of secondary sex characteristics are emotionally troubled; puberty is not a disease. In fact, puberty brings relief for the vast majority of children receiving therapy for GID, because hormone surges propel the development of their brains as well as their bodies and they come to identify with their biological sex.4,5 Science and ethics trump the current recommendations of the AAP and APA, which amount to conducting an ideology-driven social experiment on vulnerable children and their families. All physicians must work for the reinstatement of the diagnosis and sound treatment of childhood GID.

Den Trumbull, MD, FCP
President of the American College of Pediatricians

Michelle A. Cretella, MD, FCP
Vice President of the American College of
Pediatricians

Miriam Grossman, MD
Psychiatric consultant to the American College of
Pediatricians

References:
1. Vance SR Jr, Ehrensaft D, Rosenthal SM. Psychological and medical care of gender nonconforming youth. Pediatrics. 2014;134(6):1184–1192
2. Dhejne C, Lichtenstein P, Boman M, et al. Long-term follow-up of transsexual persons undergoing sex reassignment surgery: cohort study in Sweden. PLoS ONE. 2011;6:e16885
3. Hembree WC, Cohen-Kettenis P, Delemarre-van de Waal HA, et al; Endocrine Society. Endocrine treatment of transsexual persons: an Endocrine Society clinical practice guideline. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2009;94(9):3132–3154
4. Zucker KJ. Measurement of psychosexual differentiation. Arch Sex Behav. 2005;34(4):375–388
5. Vigil P, Orellana R, Cortes M, et al. Endocrine Modulation of the Adolescent Brain: A Review. North American Society for Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology; 2011

17 thoughts on “Top pediatricians REJECT puberty-blockers, “ideology-driven social experiment on vulnerable children and their families”

  1. Finally!!Whether its gender clinics or rightwingers advocating conversion therapy both want to eliminate obvious difference and lesbianism/ homosexuality in kids…by drastic physical or psychological techniques or both….to get them to “fit in” to oppressive gender ROLES and compromising their minds/bodies im the process…much less their youthful Spirits…

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Well, welcome to your proper allies. And it’s not just about their “other” positions.

    While medical treatment of children with puberty blockers is experimental and a reliable body of research is yet to be completed, the letter also mentions “reinforcing delusions”; therefore authors insist instead on enforcing gender identification (which is actually a part of gender, not sex).

    It also has a very important, telling ending: “All physicians must work for the reinstatement of the diagnosis and sound treatment of childhood GID”. There is only one treatment that was removed and can be “reinstated”, and that is Zucker style conversion therapy, enforcement of gender roles. A hypothetical treatment consistent with “trans-critical feminist” views, while discussed as a possibility among non-professionals sometimes, never existed and thus can not be “reinstated”.

    These people, in this very letter, support conversion therapy. And thus I say again, welcome to your proper allies. Guess you’ll join them in activism countering the starting wave of bans on conversion therapy for youth.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It is a dangerous precedent to.use right wimg sources that continue to.perpetuate the same old tired gender roles so many are running away from. BOTH are forms of conversion therapy with the secret agenda of eliminating homosexuality and ALLOWING children to rebel against the straitjacketed roles altogether that horn.them into a tight shoe that does not fit. It doesnt matter to me whether its shaming by rightwingers to get parents to get a little boy to “act like a man” or a girl.to be “a little lady” OR to pressure little boy to fully adopt a girl role and change their room, clothes, pronouns and allow him.into girls’ bathrooms and play spaces..or for the rebellious little girl (so much like myself when young)who wants to climb trees, play with trucks and boys’Toys and doesn’t want to wear girly stuff and would much rather have the adventures boys do rather than the domesticated games girls play and on and on and on then change her room, clothes, cut her hair and get her to adopt a boy role in school putting her in danger if she’s expected to use boys bathrooms or locker rooms. it still does not address allowing children to just be themselves even if they’re different and have the subtle indications of potential homosexuality by rejecting those roles but they may not know that at all about same sex attraction they just know that they don’t want to be confined and defined by clothes toys or preferences in play behavior.

    imposing the trans movement upon children’s bodies does not make them any more free than imposing the sex roles on them whether as they are or just switching them to get them to fit into those sex roles one way or another or as they get slightly older shaming them if they have any indication of homosexual desire. both are forms of reparative therapy and neither adds to greater freedom just fucked up adults and now children who will have fucked up bodies to go with it.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I agree with a lot of what is being said here. I have some personal BTDT with what the medical community is pushing, but on the flip side this has put me in the position of having almost zero support for my kid and for me. Not to mention the loneliness of daring to question all the “experts” . At this point in time all is ok with my kid, but I worry about the future. My kid is an adolescent. I have no objection to Bailey and Blanchard’s views. I’m also liberal and not religious. I am just laying it out there in terms of where I’m coming from on this. I need ideas regarding where to turn. I wouldn’t have as much of a problem with the current protocols if I had any reason to believe they worked or helped. I don’t. But at the end of the day I still have a kid with some issues that may need attention at some point. I am very afraid of the wrong person getting a hold of him and that leading to irreversible damage. I do not believe someone can change their sex/gender by chopping off body parts and popping hormones; and while that might be a way to deal with it, people should be honest about the limitations regarding going that route. This is currently “the treatment”. He’s a smart kid, maybe he’ll work it out, but I don’t know. I’m very concerned about the fact there seems to be nobody working on alternative treatments or who will entertain alternative ideas. Not to mention it seems the only people who are allowed to question this publicly are ultra conservative outlets. That’s not very helpful to me. if anyone has any suggestions or BTDT, I would greatly appreciate hearing about it. I am curious as to what brings some of you here, and what has led you to these views. I’m hoping to find someone who can relate to me regarding this. That would make me feel a little less alone.

    Like

    1. If I understand correctly you have a son who has some issues with his gender identity and you wish to explore every avenue you can before going down any one path. It doesn’t matter where you are coming from politically, religiously or ideally; you are a mother and you have kept an open inquiring and mind. That is the best thing you can offer your kid.

      I am here because my husband announced himself to be a ”woman” after 30 years of marriage. We also have 2 teenage children. My ex wanted to indoctrinate them with the trans speak of ”female brain in the wrong body”. I had a long battle to have a family therapist appointed by the court who wasn’t a ”gender-expert”. My kids are doing fine. Bailey, Blanchard and Lawrence have it right about my ex, although he denies that the label of autogynephilia belongs to him. He is a classic late transitioning man. I am actually trying to ensure that my kids do maintain some kind of relationship with their father, but not at a cost to their long term mental health.

      I can’t recommend highly enough the blog at ”4thwavenow.com”. Her activism as a mother of a gender-dysphoric daughter is truly inspiring.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. I don’t think it’s an issue of GID at all. I am just baffled as to why nobody is really listening and just kinda twisting the whole thing into something it is not. I guess for now there is really nothing to do exactly.

    I read and post at 4thwave too. I don’t quite think our situations are the same, but yes it is nice to know some others out there question what is going on.

    Sorry about your ex.

    Just want to comment on how some parents have reacted with regards to their kids. I think there is a ton of pressure for them to do so and it is not always about them ignoring the facts or wanting attention. Yeah for some it probably is attention. When I went looking for help I was told what I should be doing. Had I went into it knowing nothing about this and having already basically made up my mind in terms of how I was going to handle it, who knows which path I might have gone down. People go to doctors and therapists expecting them to do something. The therapist I went to even at one point told me I need to make a parenting decision and force him into therapy, groups, and considering blockers. This is before knowing anything about the situation. And even based on her own definition of GID my kid doesn’t match it. I did offer that to him, and he was not interested. I told her I’m making a parenting decision and listening to my kid. You have to have a very thick skin to stand up to some of these people who believe very strongly in their cause. Just trying to give that perspective.

    I don’t see my kid as some kind of pervy weirdo. He’s my kid and yeah he might have some unusual thinking, but he isn’t hurting anyone. I just can’t seem to find anyone in my situation who can commiserate. I don’t know if people are afraid to speak up or if it is highly unusual that I know about what my kid is doing. Or if I’m the only person on earth who feels this way. I really do not want my kid to do anything drastic to his body because I’m not entirely convinced it will work anyway. And wowsers there is some seriously crazy information on the Internet. Lot of people in this situation seem to be feeding off of each others nonsense. They say stuff that makes no sense. For example, someone said they started the hormone regiment and felt extremely sick to their stomach. He wanted to go off the meds, but he was afraid they wouldn’t allow him the surgery. So someone said oh just stay on the meds and your dysphoria will go away once you have the surgery. How can that be? Not unless the dysphoria (and disordered thinking) occurs in one’s genitals. That’s absurd. It’s crap like that I don’t want my kid coming in contact with. Fine and dandy what he ends up doing to his own body, but geesh at least I’d like him to have accurate information so he can make an informed decision.

    Thanks for “listening”.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The write of this article make use of the words “delusion” and “false beliefs”…. funny, because i guess the writer believes in Jesus and waves his hands on a cult, along his children.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.